top of page
Home: Blog2
Search
  • markliston

COVID - Death . . . Life


This is one of those blogs I hate to write. I know that it opens up all sorts of criticism because of some views I might have based on a couple events that follow. So be it. Please read through it all regardless of how I might offend you.


MK I got home just hours ago. Home from a very sad funeral. A funeral where we held, changed diapers and fed our great grandson. His is now 6-weeks old. His mother was laid to rest yesterday.


We met her in March. Daughter Jae’s husband, Jeff, had three kids. All adults. We met his girls last year and his son . . . and wife . . . in March. At that time, she was pregnant with our great grandson. This made Jae a grandma and us great grandparents. Shocking!


I didn’t really understand the process that MK must have gone through when she married me in 2007 and had “instant kids and grandkids”. In the last couple of days, I finally got it. We no longer had 9 grandkids – we had 13. Sadly, now 12. And, of course, our great grandson and his siblings. There were 3 other kids, but they “officially” were not our grandkids.


Whatever the heck “officially” means. MK never said, “Your kids and grandkids aren’t officially mine.” When you marry someone, or someone marries into a family, they are “instant” family members. So are their sibs or kids.


The funeral was Wednesday. She was 26. Yep. 26. She opted to not get a vaccine. (One of the reasons I feel as I do). She gave Covid to her husband, our great grandson when he was a couple weeks old, and her 2-year-old. The 6 and 8-years old boys didn’t get the dreaded virus. Her husband, 2 year-old and baby survived without many effects. She didn’t.


She was on a respirator for 21 days. Finally, it took her life. She could have received the vaccine for free. She chose not to get it. We all have that choice.


26. Please don’t tell me the rumor that Covid only affects Seniors. This is a young mom in the prime of her life that didn’t survive.


The funeral director asked me to handle the service. This turned out to be one of the biggest blessings of my life. . . I was honored to handle the service. Our grandson was smart enough to put the funeral on Facebook video so others, out of town, could be part of it . As of tonight, there have been nearly 200 views of people who couldn’t make it but had the opportunity to be there. Brilliant – I would have never thought of doing this.


Minutes before we started, baby Oakley, our beautiful great grandson, spit-up on my tie and suit. In the whole scheme of things, it was simply a blessing I will always cherish.

Our “new” 27-year-old grandson now has a 6-week-old son to raise.


Wow.


Looking back to when I was 27 years old, I can’t imagine what that would be like to go through this.


The support that he received from his co-workers was amazing. Some drove 12 hours to get there. Others only 6 hours, then turned around after the service and went directly back to work.


He got support from the company that he works with that I won’t share – only to say this must be the greatest employer in America! These folks are amazing.


Three weeks ago, a previous key employee when I was President of Glass Doctor, died of Covid. There was NO WAY he was going to get the vaccine. On his death bed he told his wife to get the vaccine. He knew it was too late for him. She, fortunately, had time yet.

So here is the message I will share with you that might turn so many of you off.


Two deaths. A granddaughter and great friend. One was 73 – the other 26. One a man – one a woman. I’m not sure if they were Republican or Democrat. I believe 1 bajillion percent it has NOTHING to do with politics. They are both dead. Both chose to refuse the vaccine. They both chose to not get the vaccine.


MK and I choose to get it. And the booster. And the flu shot. As well as anything else that might give us another day to live.


If I offend you, I’m glad. I’m alive!!! You are alive!!! And I wish our 26-year-old was alive tonight, too.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Too Soon Old . . . Too Late Smart

I tried to find the origin of the saying “too soon old – too late smart.”  Some think it is an older German saying.  Others an old Swedish saying. Regardless of origin, it is a very true statement.  M

DIAGNOSED

You might have already seen that our book, Diagnosed – Inspirational Stories After an Alarming Medical Diagnosis, is now available from Amazon, Barnes and Noble as well as Apple Books. I must admit t

Fatherhood vs. Grandfatherhood

Yesterday was Father’s Day. Amazing to reflect on what I’ve learned over the years. We were blessed with the opportunity to enjoy being with both of our sons and five of our grandchildren yesterday.

Freelance

ON THE MARK LEADERSHIP

Explore
Home: Welcome
bottom of page