top of page
Home: Blog2
Search
  • markliston

Christmas - 2021 - New Years - 2022

Hard to believe that Christmas in just 14 days from today. A week later it is 2022.


The first thing that grabs me is in two weeks it will be our first Christmas with a great grandchild. How can that be? Daughter, Jae, is officially a grandmother. I think the baby is supposed to call her GJ - short for Grandma Jae. Jeff will be JPa. You can guess what that stands for.


It was the first full year for MK not having her parents. Oh, they were so special!


This has been a year where I focused less on politics and more on family. It is also the first year that MK and I had the time for morning devotions every day. What a blessing that has become. The focus of our life has become much more where it belongs. When one's focus is aimed more on what we can control instead of what we can't control life becomes much better.


Don't get me wrong. I can easily get amped up on things that are happened in D.C. But, the only thing I can do is pray and vote when the time is here. Oh, yes, and keep in contact with my congressman on certain situations.


2022 we will both enjoy our 50th high school reunions. We'll have an opportunity to spend an entire week with our family in June. How fun that will be. We'll enjoy our grandkids more and more and watch our great grandson learn to talk and hopefully walk. Hopefully we'll get a chance to go to the Holy Land and learn more about our Lord Jesus's walk through his life and death. We will read more, pray more, and enjoy the opportunities we have.


Oh, yeah. We should also excercise more! Oh, yeah. I'd also like to write a book about my dad.


What else will 2022 bring? Who knows! But I do know that, God willing, we'll share it together and look back a year from today knowing it was the best year we ever had.


Merry Christmas. Happy New Year.





25 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Too Soon Old . . . Too Late Smart

I tried to find the origin of the saying “too soon old – too late smart.”  Some think it is an older German saying.  Others an old Swedish saying. Regardless of origin, it is a very true statement.  M

DIAGNOSED

You might have already seen that our book, Diagnosed – Inspirational Stories After an Alarming Medical Diagnosis, is now available from Amazon, Barnes and Noble as well as Apple Books. I must admit t

Fatherhood vs. Grandfatherhood

Yesterday was Father’s Day. Amazing to reflect on what I’ve learned over the years. We were blessed with the opportunity to enjoy being with both of our sons and five of our grandchildren yesterday.

Freelance

ON THE MARK LEADERSHIP

Explore
Home: Welcome
bottom of page