top of page
Home: Blog2
Search
  • markliston

A Double Hamburger - $4.19 Why are we shocked?????


About a month ago MK and I were out headed home after watching our grandson, Isaiah’s, football game. We love going to his game and watching him play.


We hadn’t eaten lunch so decided to go into McDonalds for a quick bite on the run. My fave over the years has always been a double hamburger with extra onions. For awhile I could get one for less than a buck. It has been some time since I bought one. Last time I think it cost me $1.79.


I figured with all the legal fighting that they, and every other food franchise, has had with governmental regulations, along with the DEMAND to pay unskilled, unmotivated kids, that it must have gone up a little bit.


$4.19 !!!


I was appalled. Not at McDonalds- their franchisees are simply trying to stay in business. After 40+ years in franchising and running a business I have a good understanding – as do most kids who have a lemonade stand. If I want to make a quarter profit for every glass of lemonade and my sugar costs double, the costs of my cups double.


I have one of four decisions to make:

1. Raise the price of my cup of lemonade

2. Reduce the quality of my cup of lemonade and lose customers

3. Stop selling lemonade

4. Become a paperboy


This isn’t about politics. This is about simply understanding business.


Remember when owning your own business was the American dream? You knew you would work harder and more hours than anybody you knew. But, you did so because you could see what your hard work could manifest somewhere down the line. Until then, you became available virtually 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.


My dad was a bottling plant manager for Pepsi Cola in Rockford. One would have thought he owned it because he treated it like he did. Through 8th grade I think we took 2 vacations – each for less than a week.


I didn’t miss anything as a kid. We were just like the shows of the 50s and 60s. Mom stayed home and was in charge there. Dad brought home the income. We ate meals together. Went to church together on Sunday.


And when I was old enough to make money, I did. Umpiring, mowing, then getting a job at 16 – so I could pay for a car (and, of course, my own insurance) and have enough money left for a double hamburger.


The next time you read an article that says we just gave away a trillion or two, or raise minimum wage a couple more dollars, just understand that your double hamburger is going to go up again. Simple, basic economics. Doesn’t do any good to complain.


Just make sure you vote!

73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Too Soon Old . . . Too Late Smart

I tried to find the origin of the saying “too soon old – too late smart.”  Some think it is an older German saying.  Others an old Swedish saying. Regardless of origin, it is a very true statement.  M

DIAGNOSED

You might have already seen that our book, Diagnosed – Inspirational Stories After an Alarming Medical Diagnosis, is now available from Amazon, Barnes and Noble as well as Apple Books. I must admit t

Fatherhood vs. Grandfatherhood

Yesterday was Father’s Day. Amazing to reflect on what I’ve learned over the years. We were blessed with the opportunity to enjoy being with both of our sons and five of our grandchildren yesterday.

Freelance

ON THE MARK LEADERSHIP

Explore
Home: Welcome
bottom of page